Academic Staff

The students would not be able to perform their research without the supervision of some world-class academic staff members who act as supervisors.

Dr Arno Barnard
Space Systems and Radiation Effects
Dr Japie Engelbrecht
Aeronautical Systems
Prof Herman Steyn
Aerospace and Industrial Control Systems

Dr Corné van Daalen
Autonomous Systems
Dr Lourens Visagie
Space Systems
Dr Willem Jordaan
Aerospace Systems

Dr Callen Fisher
Legged Robotics
Dr JC Schoeman
Autonomous Systems and Reinforcement Learning


The core of the ESL is the people who research and work here. The majority of these people are postgraduate students working on obtaining their Masters or PhD degrees. Occasionally the ESL also hosts interns/short-term students from around the world (France, Germany, USA).

Doctoral Students

Asia Habila
Benjamin Evans

Masters Students

Anchal Dorfling
Andre Nel
Andrew Murdoch

Andries Burger
Annika Hohbach
Clayton Pheiffer

Devlon Erasmus
Eberhardt Korf
Emile Visser

Ernst Jordaan
Francois Bredell
Gert Nel

Gideon Serfontein
Irwin Swart
Jason Di Leva

Kelsey Thomas
Kyle Ahlschlager
Lorelei Nieuwoudt

March Strauss
Marethe Coetzer
Merrick Hughes

Mohammed Zahier Parker
Nathan Weiss
Oran Keanly

Raynhardt Van Zyl
Sam Jeffrey
Sheldon Erasmus

Stephano Buys
Ulrich Louw